Website Translation

Website translation and localisation is an important step for marketing your goods and services. After all, if the information about you and your product is provided in a language that customers do not understand, who would want to purchase your product? Here is a good example.

Imagine you are in a store and you want to buy a flavoured yoghurt. You see an Airy Yoghurt with Coconut Flakes standing next to 豆腐杏仁, which is also 会给你一个禅. Which one will you choose for your child?

As reported by research:

  • Conversion rate and sales increase by 69 % if the product website is translated into the customer’s native language (or by 20 % if only the product landing page is translated);
  • The reported 56.2 % of consumers believe that the product information in their language is more important than the price.

We will not simply translate your website.

We will provide a full range of localisation services:

  • We will assign native speakers for your project and ensure cultural adaptation of your content.    
  • We will localise graphics.
  • We will translate videos and provide voiceovers/subtitles.
  • We will perform desktop publishing of your product catalogues and brochures.
  • We will translate your advertising campaigns and your content for social media and newsletters.

Our engineers will help you upload the translated content into the administration panel of your website and provide suggestions on automation of any future website updates.

Each website localisation task is uniquely defined; therefore, a single approach cannot be applied to all projects. We practice a project-based approach and develop customised solutions for our clients.

The localisation of the top Ukrainian job search website Work.ua from Russian into English required such a customised solution. We wrote about this project as a case study for the popular Ukrainian online magazine about technology ain.ua.

Website Localisation

Here is our standard step-by-step workflow process for website localisation projects:

  1. Establishing Goals and Objectives.
    We discuss with the client their localisation business objectives. This way, we can offer the best price to quality ratio.
  2. Project Development.
    Depending on the purpose of localisation and the nature of the content, we define the project tasks, language specialist criteria, technical specifications (including terminology harmonisation and compliance with local standards), algorithm interaction, and the final localised content delivery/uploading format.
  3. Project Preparation.
    At the preparation stage, we download/prepare the source texts, determine the scope of the project, approve the final price, create and approve glossaries, test and vet translators, and prepare and approve keyword translation options for any future search engine optimisation (SEO), etc. For large projects, we may also create and approve a style guide. If needed, we may arrange for our translators to travel to the client’s office to familiarise themselves with the client’s product onsite.
  4. Project Implementation.
    Using mother-tongue translators residing in the target country is critical for high-quality localisation. When vetting translators, we also take into account their industry experience to ensure accurate understanding of the industry-specific language. At this stage, we localise any images and documents available on the website, video materials, including subtitles and voiceovers, and advertising campaigns.
  5. Quality Assurance.
    In accordance with the ISO 17100 and EN 15038 industry quality standards and our own practices, any translated website must be verified by a reviewer and a proofreader to prevent any inaccuracies, mistakes, or typos. We also use additional automated quality assurance tools.
  6. Testing.
    The next quality assurance step requires testing of the localised content after it has been published on the website to make sure that all the information is displayed online adequately and appropriately and that there are no untranslated segments or DTP issues.
  7. Updating Glossaries and Translation Memories.
    Upon approval of the localised content, we update the project glossary and translation memory for any future website updates or any other website related projects.

Tell us about your website localisation needs, and we will develop the best solution that will help you achieve your localisation business goals.

Is Website Localisation a Must?

Now that you have learned about the difference between translation and localisation, you may wonder, “Does everybody need to have their website localised?” or “When would a simpler approach, i.e. translation only, be enough?”

The simple answer is that localisation is strongly recommended as it means not only translation but also cultural and regional adaptation. We of course understand that website localisation must be cost-effective and ensure returns on the localisation investment (ROI).

Therefore, we recommend the following:

  • For translation of the field-specific (technical, medical, legal, or financial) sections of the website, opt for a project that involves translation with subsequent revision by an editor without necessarily requiring native speakers as the task in this case is strictly confined to accurate translation of the text and industry terminology. It will be more budget efficient.
  • For marketing projects, you should ask for localisation only by mother-tongue translators as the conversion rates and sales will depend on the quality of the translated website.
  • For advertising slogans, taglines, and any other copy content, request transcreation (creative translation) by native speakers to make sure you get your brand message across.
  • For localisation of the company name, brand name, names of products or services entering a foreign market, request name verification to avoid any cultural blunders or naming-related missteps.

Why Only Native Speakers Should Work with Localisation Projects

For marketing and copy content, we strongly recommend that you hire only native speakers. The quality of the translation will be much higher. You may wonder, “Seriously?! Why bother?”

Here is the thing.
Language specialists who translate into their native languages achieve better results because they feel right at home when it comes to the language itself and the subject matter. In the end, the client receives a first-class translation that will be understood by customers as it has been intended.

This does not mean that a non-native specialist will necessarily do a poor job. The quality may still be relatively high. However, this will increase a risk for lower quality. The translation may be accurate, but it may not sound natural or sufficiently enticing to the target audience.

If you only need to convey the gist of your message and the style is not a priority, you could probably tolerate a few awkward sentences. With a marketing project, however, you need an impeccable translation to avoid any major editorial intervention or retranslation of the entire text from scratch.

We sometimes receive such requests from our clients, “We need a high-quality and understandable translation. We had it translated before, but the result felt like a machine translation. It was too literal and, in some places, even incomprehensible. This is a very important project and we cannot afford another mistake”.

How You Can Ensure the Quality You Want

All you need is this:

  • The translator has a subject-field knowledge.
  • The translator is a native speaker of the target language.

Native translators are more likely to produce something that is more accessible and engaging in comparison with non-native translators. The target audience will receive the message better.

Why?
Because word-by-word translation is insufficient. The translator must be familiar with the target culture and aware of any linguistic subtleties. In addition, the translator must be aware of the product or service consumption culture in the target region. For you, this means finding a linguistically impeccable and perfectly accurate translation.

You disagree?
A sceptic may object, “That’s not true! Non-native translators can provide high-quality translations, too”.

We have to insist:
Yes, sure, some linguists translate fairly well. These are typically specialising translators who have been brought up in a bilingual environment or have lived abroad for many years. Many people often write in a foreign language and believe their writing to be of high quality. Only native speakers, though, would spot subtle flaws in a non-native translation, however high its quality may be.

Do not take any chances. Contact us today for the localisation of your website by native speakers because the quality of the translation will ultimately ensure the success of your website and, by improving your online reputation, increase your sales.

Get Your Project Quote

Please fill out this form and submit it with your document attached, and we will reply with a free quote for your entire project.
Attach your document to receive a free quote.

Contact Us

Feel free to contact us in any convenient way, and we’ll be happy to answer to any of your questions.
16-22, B. Khmelnytskoho Str., Floor 12
Kyiv, Ukraine 01030

Перевод сайтов

Перевод и локализация сайта — важный шаг для экспорта товаров и услуг. Ведь кто будет готов к покупке, если информация о продукте и производителе на непонятном языке? Это легко прочувствовать на примере.

Представьте, что вы заходите в магазин и хотите купить творожный десерт. На полке гастронома соседствуют «Воздушный творожок с кокосовой стружкой» и 豆腐杏仁, который, кроме всего прочего, 会给你一个禅.  Что вы купите своему ребенку?

По данным исследований:

  • на 69 % увеличиваются конверсия и продажи, если сделан перевод сайта на родной язык покупателя (или на 20 %, если переведен только лендинг продукта);
  • 56,2 % потребителей считают, что возможность получить информацию о продукте на их языке важнее, чем цена.

Мы не просто делаем перевод сайтов.
Мы обеспечиваем полную локализацию, а именно:

  • выполняем перевод сайта с привлечением носителей языка и культурную адаптацию контента;
  • локализуем графические материалы;
  • переводим и озвучиваем/субтитрируем видеоматериалы;
  • верстаем продуктовые каталоги и брошюры;
  • переводим рекламные кампании и контент для социальных сетей и рассылок.

Наши инженеры помогут с загрузкой переведенных текстов в админпанель сайта, подскажут, как автоматизировать публикацию переводов для обновлений сайта.

В каждой задаче по локализации сайта есть свои особенности и цели, потому единый шаблонный подход к каждому заказу невозможен. Мы исповедуем проектный подход и разрабатываем индивидуальные решения для каждого клиента.

Примером разработки индивидуальных решений является наш проект по локализации на английский сайта Work.ua. Мы описали эту историю в статье для ain.ua по ссылке.

Локализация сайта

Ниже описан наиболее распространенный пошаговый подход к локализации и переводу сайтов:

  1. Постановка целей.
    На этом этапе с клиентом обсуждается бизнес-цель, ради которой выполняется перевод сайта. Это позволяет нам предложить оптимальный с точки зрения цены и качества подход к процессу перевода. 
  2. Разработка подхода к проекту.
    В зависимости от цели выполнения локализации и сути контента формируется состав работ, требования к квалификации исполнителей, технические требования (в т. ч. по обеспечению единства терминологии и соответствию терминологии локальным нормам), а также алгоритм взаимодействия и формат доставки/загрузки переведенного контента.
  3. Подготовка проекта.
    На этапе подготовки выгружаются/подготавливаются исходные тексты, выполняется расчет объемов работ и утверждается финальная цена, создаются и утверждаются глоссарии, тестируются исполнители, осуществляется подготовка и утверждение вариантов перевода ключевых слов для будущей поисковой оптимизации и прочее. Для больших проектов на данном этапе создается и утверждается стайл-гайд; если необходимо, исполнители проходят обучение по продукту на стороне заказчика.
  4. Выполнение проекта.
    Важно отметить, что для качественной локализации требуется привлечение исключительно носителей языка, проживающих в стране, для которой выполняется локализация. При выборе исполнителей также учитывается отраслевой опыт и знания носителя для обеспечения правильной передачи смысла и узкоспециализированных особенностей. На этом этапе также производится локализация изображений и документации, доступной на сайте, перевод видеоматериалов с субтитрированием или озвучкой, перевод рекламных кампаний.
  5. Контроль качества.
    В соответствии с нашей практикой и отраслевыми стандартами качества ISO 17100 и EN 15038 перевод веб-сайта должен быть проверен редактором и корректором во избежание неточностей, ошибок и опечаток. Также перевод сайта проверяется автоматизированными средствами.
  6. Тестирование.
    Дополнительный контроль качества в виде локализационного тестирования осуществляется уже после публикации контента на сайте, чтобы убедиться, что вся информация отображается корректно и правильно в контексте сайта, а также во избежание непереведенных фрагментов или ошибок в верстке.
  7. Обновление глоссария и памяти переводов.
    После утверждения выполненной работы обновляются глоссарий и память перевода для использования их в будущих переводах при обновлении сайта и прочего контента.
Пришлите нам описание задачи по переводу вашего сайта, и мы разработаем оптимальный подход, который обеспечит достижение ваших бизнес-целей в контексте локализации.

Всегда ли нужна локализация для сайта?

Изучив разницу между переводом и локализацией, вы все еще можете искать ответ на вопрос: «Всегда ли нужно выполнять локализацию для сайтов и есть ли случаи, где можно обойтись более простым подходом, сделав только перевод?»

Простой ответ — локализация нужна всегда, т. к. обеспечивает не только перевод сайта, но и адаптацию текста с учетом культурной и региональной специфики. Вместе с этим мы понимаем, что действия по переводу сайта должны быть финансово эффективными и обеспечивать ROI (возврат инвестиций), затраченных на перевод.

В этом контексте мы рекомендуем поступать следующим образом:

  • для перевода разделов сайта, содержащих узкоспециализированные (технические, медицинские, юридические или финансовые) тексты, выбирать перевод с проверкой редактором без привлечения носителей, т. к. в данном случае задача стоит сугубо в точной передаче смысла и отраслевой специфики. Это сэкономит бюджет;
  • для маркетинговых текстов выбирать исключительно локализацию с привлечением носителя языка, т. к. от качества текста зависят конверсия и продажи, которые приносит сайт;
  • для слоганов и продающих текстов — транскреацию (творческий перевод) носителем языка для обеспечения максимальной «сочности» перевода;
  • для перевода названия компании, торговой марки, продуктов или сервисов при выходе на внешние рынки заказывать проверку названий во избежание локальных конфузов с неймингом.

Для чего привлекать носителей языка к переводу сайтов?

Для маркетинговых и продающих текстов мы рекомендуем привлекать сугубо носителей языка. Такой перевод сайта или коммерческих материалов будет гораздо качественнее. Вас может посетить мысль: «Серьезно?! С чего бы это?»

Суть такова.

Специалисты, которые переводят на свой родной язык, делают это более качественно, потому что они чувствуют себя как рыба в воде как в самом языке, так и в тематике. В результате клиент получает первоклассный перевод сайта, который лучше воспринимают читатели.

Это не значит, что специалист, который переводит не на родной язык, обязательно сделает это плохо. По итогу качество может оказаться довольно хорошим. Но при этом риск недостаточно высокого качества возрастает. Не из-за фактических ошибок в переводе, а просто потому, что текст может плохо восприниматься или, другими словами, быть «недостаточно сочным».

Если для вас важно донести суть, а стиль играет не такую значительную роль, вы можете смириться с парочкой неуклюжих предложений. Но если вы отдаете в работу маркетинговый документ, вам нужен безупречный перевод, чтобы не пришлось редактировать неудачные части или заново переводить весь текст.

Иногда мы получаем от клиентов запросы подобного рода: «Нам нужен качественный и понятный перевод. Другие компании уже выполняли перевод этих файлов, но результат сильно напоминал машинный перевод. Он был слишком буквальным, а местами непонятным. Это очень важный проект, у нас нет права на еще одну ошибку».

Как обеспечить нужное качество перевода сайта?

Достаточно всего двух составляющих:

  • переводчик обладает специальными знаниями в отношении того, что он переводит;
  • переводчик переводит на родной язык.

Переводчики, которые переводят на родной язык, обычно отличаются более доходчивым и интересным стилем по сравнению со специалистами, которые переводят на иностранный язык. В итоге текст лучше воспринимается целевой аудиторией.

Почему?

Потому что дословного перевода недостаточно. Переводчик должен быть знаком с культурой читателей, ему должны быть известны нюансы и стилистические особенности языка перевода. Также переводчик должен знать культуру использования продукта или услуги в регионе, для которого выполняется перевод. Для клиента это означает получение лингвистически безупречного и идеально точного перевода сайта или коммерческих материалов.

Не согласны?

Критично настроенный человек может сказать: «Это неправда! Переводчики, которые переводят на иностранный язык, тоже могут делать качественный перевод».

Отвечаем.

Да, некоторые переводчики довольно хорошо переводят на иностранный язык. Чаще всего это переводчики узкой специализации, которые воспитывались в билингвальной среде или много лет прожили в стране второго языка. Люди часто пишут на иностранном языке и считают свои тексты качественными, но любой носитель языка, как правило, сразу же видит «акцент» в переводе.

Не рискуйте и выбирайте полноценную локализацию с привлечением носителя для вашего сайта, ведь от качества этой работы зависит эффективность сайта, продажи и ваша репутация.

Другие услуги бюро переводов «Профпереклад»

Технический перевод
Читать подробнее
Финансовый перевод
Читать подробнее
Медицинский перевод
Читать подробнее
Юридический перевод
Читать подробнее
Узнать стоимость
Заполните форму и прикрепите документ, и мы сообщим точную стоимость всей работы на email
Прикрепите документ для оценки стоимости перевода
Контакты
Вы также можете связаться с нашим офисом в Киеве любым удобным способом, и мы ответим на все вопросы.
Украина, 01030,
г. Киев, ул. Деловая, 5Б, 6-й этаж
Понедельник – Пятница с 9:00 до 18:00